Thirty by 30

When I went to school at BYU-Idaho, my first semester I got a job as a student secretary in the English Department. As a freshman who had never had a job before, I was totally terrified and completely out of my element. I had talent, yes, but how to use it? No idea.

Then I met Zan, a senior with way more talent, much more experience with life, and a Ninja Turtles backpack. She spent time with me at the computer teaching me how to hone my limited skills with Paint Shop Pro into using Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator. Sadly, we barely got to work together at all, but she obviously left a lasting impression on me, then again when she returned a few years later to teach at the University with a Masters, and then again when she left for Ireland to pursue even more education.

And now she has done it again. Following her on Instagram, I noticed something. #zans30by30. Thirty things to do in the 30 days before she turns thirty. I have two and a half years until I turn thirty, but her list made me think of a list I made a year ago detailing what I want to do by the time I’m thirty. I haven’t yet decided if I’ll share it with the internet world or not, but suffice it to say, that I’m working on many goals in the next two and a half years. Some big (like sewing a quilt, a goal I’ve had for years) and some small (like reading more). Though I think the latter will be much bigger than any of the others since I am pursuing it the most right now.

So if you see more book reviews/a photo of a quilt/Owen’s baby book finally completed, just realize it is me keeping track of my thirty by 30.

 

Leave a Reply

