Notes on a Turkey

cherry pie

I made the turkey for the first time today and it was a success. Moist. Moist. Moist. (Sorry, Lisa.)

I also made a majority of the dinner and pies. Here are a few of my notes for next year.

First of all, I made the following side dishes/desserts:

Stuffing (with The Pioneer Woman’s Cornbread)

Green Bean Casserole

Five Pies: Banana Cream, Chocolate Cream, Cherry, and two Pumpkin
^My favorite pie crust.

And then there was the turkey. Read below for a complete rundown.

I’ve been watching Food Network Thanksgiving specials for a month now and all the turkey ideas were overwhelming. Then I saw how Alex Guarneschelli does it. So simple and I could tell it promised succulence. I combined her recipe with a few other ideas I found while watching Food Network and the result was delightful. The turkey was 13 pounds and only took 3 hours to cook.

The night before Thanksgiving, I removed the fresh turkey from its packaging, patted it dry with a paper towel, and salted it. Then I let it sit in the fridge overnight uncovered to dry out the skin.

At 7:00 a.m., I removed the turkey from the fridge and let it sit on the counter for one hour to reach room temp. At 8:00 a.m., I stuck cold butter between the skin and the breast meat, stuffed the cavity with one apple thickly sliced, one onion largely diced, two sprigs of rosemary, and two more pieces of cold butter. This is where Chef Guarnaschelli’s method comes into play.

Melt two sticks of butter. The day before, I melted the butter and clarified it to remove any water which may cause splotchy skin on the turkey. You could also just buy ghee or use olive oil. Soak a large piece of cheesecloth in the butter. Lay it on the breast of the turkey like a blanket. Pop it in the oven at 375 degrees for two hours.

After two hours, remove the cheesecloth. Cook for one more hour or until it reaches 165 degrees when the thermometer is inserted into the thickest part of the thigh. Let it rest for thirty minutes to one hour before serving.

I will do this again next time for sure. It was so easy and delicious. The best part was no basting.

Dinner was ready by 12:15 p.m. We ate and then went to Frozen. See it. It’s AMAZING.

How was your Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

