1915 Gowns: More Historical Research

As I strive to discover what it meant to actually live in the Edwardian Era, I am drawn to the clothing. The fantastic gowns, headpieces, and shoes epitomized the era of elegance, and according to a source I read too long ago to quote, the aristocrats of the early 1900s spent more on clothing than any other period in history (if you take into account inflation). And as I write each scene in my historical fiction, I try to imagine what each character might be wearing. To do this takes research, and, grudgingly, I do it. Okay, okay. Very happily and excitedly, I rush to view every piece of silk brocade, lace, and velvet.

The below pieces are from 1915, a year just out of the Edwardian Era, where everyone, especially Americans, tried to hang on to the past, with the war in Europe threatening to change everything. This is the year that fashion began to transform. Hems were hiked up above the ankle, the corset was starting to become old fashioned, and the waistline straightened just a little to make way for the coming 20s when the waistline seemed to disappear.

Here are a few:

 

edwardian research_1915 dress_01 edwardian research_1915 dress_02 edwardian research_1915 dress_03 edwardian research_1915 dress_04 edwardian research_1915 dress_05

{images}

edwardian research_1915 dress_06

 

{image}

 

The above image is my favorite of the time period so far. I would love to get caught in the rain in Paris wearing such incredible attire. Check out the amazing hats.

edwardian research_1915 dress_07

 

{image}

I’m off to do more research. More ideas for being an Edwardian girl in the modern era is coming.

In the meantime, check out Humblebee and Me for Edwardian hairstyles, makeup, and more. She has begun a terrific series called “Everyday Edwardian” which I hope never ends.

Leave a Reply

