Face Powder from Your Pantry

in a jar-text

I stayed up far too late last night researching. Imagine me on my sofa with Charlie Chaplin’s silent movie on my TV and Edwardian beauty treatments on my computer screen. It was all rather romantic. Well, I enjoyed it at least.

As I was researching, I came across a not very Edwardian, but still amazing way to make face powder. I never wear face powder because I am too nervous about the weird chemicals, so when I found this, my cosmetic outlook changed.

I whipped up this powder in about five minutes this morning. I had just purchased arrowroot powder at a local organic produce store for one dollar. One dollar! The cashier asked me what I would use it for and I replied that I had no idea, but I always wanted to own some. Now I have  reply for her.

If you don’t have arrowroot powder, you can also use cornstarch. In all my research, I found that they are interchangeable, but arrowroot powder is a bit more finely ground than corn starch. Maybe I’ll try cornstarch next time and report if there even is a difference.

Below are my before and after shots without retouching. There is not a huge difference on the camera, but my face is definitely less shiny and has a bit more of a matte finish, which is definitely Edwardian, and a little bronzing. If you try this recipe, please let me know what you think.

before-after

Here’s the recipe. I felt like I was baking cookies with the delightful smells and I get to smell it all day on my face. Not many face powders have such an enticing smell–like pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. I also added about 20 tiny drops of jasmine essential oil.

powder ingredients copy

Face Powder

  • 2 – 4 tsp. arrowroot powder or cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 15 – 20 drops of favorite floral essential oil (rose, lavender, jasmine)

Combine the first four ingredients with a whisk. Add arrowroot powder a teaspoon at a time until you achieve a color that matches your skin tone. Rub a small amount on your wrist to match it up nicely. Add the essential oil and mix with a fork. Pour into a small mason jar or old (clean) makeup container. Use a makeup brush to apply. I used the lid of my mason jar to knock off any excess before applying to my face.

 

Please comment if you give this a try. I am very interested to hear how it goes. I will report with my experience after I’ve had a chance to try it in the next couple of weeks. More Edwardian beauty tips are on the way.

4 thoughts on “Face Powder from Your Pantry”

  1. I have a similar recipe (I do not use cinnamon because I’ve heard it’s “spicy” on the skin – it’s used for plumping sometimes), and I love it! I do add a little bit of turmeric to add a bit of yellow to the powder. And, you’re right about it smelling INCREDIBLE! Now, we don’t have to worry about chemical irritations.

Leave a Reply

