Salamander Mud Fudge: A Recipe Dedicated to My Sweet Grandfather

1932 - 2013
Dean J. Polatis
1932 – 2013

This morning my papa left this world and my heart is very heavy. And although I am an aspiring writer, I feel incapable crafting of any appropriate, non-cliche words to dedicate to him. As an aspiring chef, I dug into my memories and created this fudge.

Many, many years ago (before I was born) my grandfather (“papa”) ate salamander mud, or the mud from my uncle’s salamander cage. It’s true. My uncle left it on the kitchen table, and my papa, confusing it for pudding, took a spoonful. While this is not what I remember him for, it is most definitely my inspiration for today.

Along with this silly memory, the toppings were inspired by two memories:

Walnuts: I remember watching him munch on handfuls.
Toffee: I cooked English toffee for him a couple of times because he enjoyed it so much.

Enjoy this delicious fudge, and as you savor the bites, remember to savor the moments with your loved ones as well.

Salamander Fudge
Salamander Fudge

Salamander Mud Fudge
inspired by Giada’s Chocolate Cinnamon Fudge

– butter for greasing
– 14 oz. can of evaporated milk
– 1 tsp. cinnamon
– 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
– 1 tsp. vanilla
– 1 cup milk chocolate chips
– 1 1/2 cups dark chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips
– 3 Tbsp. butter, room temp.
– 1/2 cup crushed toffee bits
– 1/4 cup crushed walnuts

Combine evaporated milk, cinnamon, cayenne, vanilla, chocolate chips, and butter in a heat-proof bowl. Place over pot of bowling water as a double boiler. Melt together, stirring well. Once melted and thick, remove from heat and stir in 1/4 cup of toffee bits.

Pour into an 8-inch non-stick pan, lined with parchment and greased with butter.

Top with remaining toffee bits and walnuts. Let it cool. Remove from pan and slice.

 

Leave a Reply

