Day 5, Thanks: Honesty

“I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everyone.”

–Bill Cosby

I am posting twice today because, well, yesterday, I just couldn’t think of anything.

Today I am grateful for honesty and just good ole genuineness (yes, I’m an English teacher…).

I don’t feel like I’m an honest person, but I want to be. I appreciate all the people who are honest and genuine around me. All the people who share their true feelings and aren’t afraid of the consequences. I’m slowly discovering how this works. You see, I’m a people pleaser and people pleasers, well, they just aren’t that genuine. I don’t think most people pleasers realize they aren’t being genuine. They’re just trying to be nice. I’m nice, yes. But is nice the best thing when it trumps sincerity? I don’t know. I’m becoming painfully aware of how much of a people pleaser I am and it must stop. Not because I don’t love people. Not because I don’t like being nice. But because I want to develop real, genuine relationships, and the only way to do that is to be a genuine person.

So, to all you out there who share your true feelings, who let people know how you really feel, this post is for you. Thanks for the inspiration. Thanks for the sincerity. One day, I’ll follow your example.

What inspired this post? This article at MindBodyGreen: “Seven Ways to Stop Being a People Pleaser.”

Leave a Reply

