Baked Mushroom Ravioli

 

{My camera was smudged and this was the only good picture. I will for sure make this again, so a new photo will be on its way. And probably very soon.}

When I was in Hawaii, the only thing I wanted to eat was Macaroni Grill’s mushroom ravioli. Yeah, I know. Surrounded by amazing seafood and sushi and that’s what I want. It’s an odd thing for me, though. Ever since I can remember mushrooms have creeped me out. My dad fried them up in butter once and instantly I thought, “I don’t like those.” I didn’t try them. I just decided it right there and then.

Then I went on a “date” with this guy, his dad, and his little brother (You see why I have quotes around the word “date”? I was fifteen.) We went to eat at A&W and I just chose to eat what everyone else was eating–it was a mushroom burger. You want to know the funny thing about it? I really liked it until I heard his dad say it was mushrooms. Then, my stomach lurched and I couldn’t take another bite.

Fast forward to today. I decided I would acclimate myself to the weird little fungi and after almost a year of slowly tasting and trying new ways of preparation, I am obsessed with them. Mushroom burger? Bring it on. Mushroom ravioli? I crave it like a pregnant lady. Seriously. And, no, I am not expecting.

So, last night, the crazy craving came back. Unfortunately, there is no Macaroni Grill around here, so I went to my local grocery store to see what I could come up with.

Buitoni’s fresh mushroom ravioli. Bertolli’s mushroom alfredo. Some fresh mushrooms to round it all off.

Then I got home, stared at the jarred alfredo sauce and thought, “I can do this myself and it will be so much better.” So, I did.

To make a very long story just a little shorter, here’s the end result.

Ingredients
1/2 onion, sliced
3 Tbsp butter
1-2 Tbsp olive oil, plus more for drizzling
6 oz. fresh mushrooms, sliced
1 Tbsp. vanilla (or a splash of Marsala wine–didn’t have it)
2 oz. cream cheese
1 cup milk
3 oz. grated parmesan, plus more for topping
1 Tbsp chopped parsley
2 packages of Buitoni’s Wild Mushroom Ravioli

Heat stainless steel pan (preferably one that can be placed in the oven) with olive oil and butter. Add onion. Caramelize. Be patient. This could take close to fifteen minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Add mushrooms and a little more olive oil if it’s a bit too dry. Let the mushrooms cook and caramelize, about 8-10 minutes. Add the vanilla or marsala wine and use a wooden spoon to scrape up the brown bits. Add cream cheese. Allow it to melt and become creamy.

Add milk and let it mix in with the cream cheese. Add parmesan. Melt it all together until you have a delicious creamy sauce. Add parsley.

Cook the mushroom ravioli according to the instructions. Remove from the boiling water as soon as it rises to the top. Add to the sauce. If the sauce is a bit too thick, add some pasta water.

Top with more parmesan and a drizzle of olive oil.

Bake for 15 minutes uncovered until bubbly and light brown on the top.

Enjoy with some crusty Italian bread. Sinful but divine.

Leave a Reply

