Inspired to get healthy

You don’t get more romantic than Kate Winslet.

I’m struggling with my weight. I also struggle with the idea of starving myself/exercising to death. Kate Winslet’s body type is very similar to my own, so I decided to figure out what she does.

When she was younger, she was very uncomfortable with her figure (she weighed 200 pounds when she was fifteen). She ate very unhealthily; once, she only allowed herself coffee, raw carrots, and apples for months. It all changed when she filmed Sense and Sensibility. Emma Thompson noticed how Kate would skip meals or not eat well. She approached Kate and said, “If you dare try and lose weight for this job, I will be furious with you.” Kate recalled, “[Emma] went out and bought me The Beauty Myth, and since then I’ve been much more relaxed about that size of it” (Kate Winslet Fan).

{Photo Source}

“I have a crumble baby belly,” she says. “Boobs are worse for wear after two kids… I’m doing all right. I’m 33. I don’t look in the mirror and go, ‘Oh, I look fantastic!’ Of course I don’t.

“Nobody is perfect. I just don’t believe in perfection. But I do believe in saying, ‘This is who I am and look at me not being perfect!’ I’m proud of that” (Sydney Morning Herald).

After browsing the web, I found a few interesting facts about how she keeps her figure.

  1. She doesn’t have a personal trainer. She exercises on her living room floor with a mat and dumbbells to a twenty-minute Pilates video. Ms. Winslet says, “It’s very simple – you barely break into a sweat” (That’s Fit).
  2. She doesn’t eat pasta, not because she chooses; it makes her sick.
  3. She controls the portions. “I still don’t believe this craziness for being skinny, but I eat sensibly and I don’t stuff down chocolate biscuits” (People).
  4. She doesn’t believe in plastic surgery. “It [cosmetic surgery] goes against my morals, the way that my parents brought me up and what I consider to be natural beauty … I am an actress, I don’t want to freeze the expressions of my face” (Huffington Post). Kate, Emma Thompson, and Rachel Weisz recently formed a group they call the “British Anti-Cosmetic Surgery League.”

I’ve been inspired. Today I woke up early and did some Pilates. I’ve never done Pilates before and felt awesome afterward. I like how it’s a good mix between yoga and intense exercise. Now the real challenge will be turning down those “chocolate biscuits.”

Have you been inspired by any celebs to stay fit? Please share.

Leave a Reply

